Nightowl Suite, Movement 1 – Full Score

11 p.m. - Searching For Birdland

Grade 4

Product: 52612S Category:

Jazz Ensemble Score


      Nightowl Suite, Movement 1 (11pm - Searching For Birdland)


Commissioned by the Kentucky Music Educators’ Association for its 2002 All-State Jazz Ensemble, the inspiration for this medium-advanced, up-swing release comes from the music of Art Blakey’s Jazz Messengers and Birdland, NYC’s legendary jazz club. Though improvised solos are assigned to trumpet and trombone, chord sheets are included so anyone can serve as soloist. Mike’s score calls for five trumpets, and the chart takes about six minutes from start to finish.
Style: Up Swing

Additional information

Weight 1.75 lbs
Dimensions 12 × 9 × 1.5 in

Preview Score

Score Preview

Score Video